So, this is an interesting read.

so

So, I just read an NBC New York article, Why Do Tech Workers Say “So” So Much?, by Scott Budman. He writes:

So … here’s a question: Have you noticed that tech workers start a lot of their sentences with the word, “So…?”

Is it just me?  Because I started to notice this around 1997 or so, when dotcom companies started gaining in stature, importance, and wealth.  Tech veterans, recent hires, even people who left other careers to jump on the tech bandwagon would answer questions starting with the word “so.”

I recommend reading the rest of the article; it’s really quite fascinating.  I’ve noticed that I’ve been starting many of my emails with “So” for some years now — perhaps subconsciously preparing for a tech career?

Leave a Reply

